Skip to main content

Electronic Resources

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

Databases marked with the EBSCO logo are searchable in OneSearch.

A

Academic Search Ultimate

A comprehensive database with a coverage of more than 10,000 academic journals from multiple publishers. Its broad subject coverage includes the sciences and engineering, the arts, social sciences, and humanities.

ACM Digital Library

Full-text access to the journals of the Association of Computing Machinery.

ACS (American Chemical Society)

Access to core ACS journals from 1996 to present in catalysis, chemical biology, analytical chemistry, environment, nano, crystals, materials, and more.

AIP (American Institute of Physics)

The library has access to select titles from AIP back to volume 1 for each title: Applied Physics Letters, Chaos, Journal of Applied Physics, The Journal of Chemical Physics, Journal of Mathematical Physics, Physics of Fluids, Physics of Plasmas, Physics Today, Review of Scientific Instruments, and open access journals: AIP Advances, APL Materials, APL Photonics, and Structural Dynamics.

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate:

Provides coverage of applied sciences and computing by combining databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. It has full text for 1,200 journals, with content from numerous leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.

APS (American Physical Society) Journals with PROLA archive

Full-text access to all the APS journals.

arXiv.org

A highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. arXiv is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.

ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)

ASCE Library provides full-text access to all ASCE journals and conference proceedings. Subjects include structural, geotechnical, transportation, aerospace, environmental, energy, hydrologic, and hydraulic engineering as well as urban planning, infrastructure, construction management, and nano- and micromechanics.

ASME Digital Library (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)

ASME Digital Library searches the society's transaction journals, conference proceedings, and e-books. Khalifa University has full-text access only to the 25 transaction journals starting in 2000. Older journal articles and conference papers must be ordered individually.

B

Business Source Elite

Business Source Elite offers full text for nearly 1,100 business publications and contains expanded PDF backfiles for more than 150 titles (back to 1985 or the first issue published for that journal). More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included.

C

Cambridge University Press

The CUP subscription includes all current Cambridge online journals and a 10-year back file. The collection has broad subject coverage ranging from business to molecular biology and politics.

CultureGrams

CultureGrams is a reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. It provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.

E

Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central is your resource for ebooks providing breadth and depth of authoritative academic content.

EBSCO

  • Academic Search Ultimate: Indexes and abstracts articles in over 11,900 journals with full-text for 7,900 journal titles. Its broad subject coverage includes the sciences and engineering, the arts, social sciences, and humanities.
  • Applied Science & Technology Source: Provides coverage of applied sciences and computing by combining databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. It has full text for 1,200 journals, with content from numerous leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
  • Business Source Elite: Offers full text for nearly 1,100 business publications and contains expanded PDF backfiles for more than 150 titles (back to 1985 or the first issue published for that journal). More than 10,150 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included.
  • Engineering Source: Offers more than 3000 full-text titles in engineering, computer science and related areas.
  • ERIC: Provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
  • GeoRef: Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world. Library has enabled full text linking to available resources
  • GreenFILE: Covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes full-text.
  • INSPEC: Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, this leading bibliographic database provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. Library has enabled full text linking to available resources.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts: Indexes journals, books, reports and proceedings in library sciences, online retrieval, information management.
  • Regional Business News: Provides full-text for 108 business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canada. Full-text coverage dating back to 1990.

EBSCO eBooks Collection

This collection offers more than 180,000 e-books from multiple publishers on a wide variety of subjects.

Engineering Case Studies Online

A collection of videos and text material on engineering failures and successes from Alexander Street Press. Case studies include documentaries, accident reports, lectures, interviews on incidents such as flight crashes, bridge collapses, nuclear plant failures, automobile design flaws, and the like.

Engineering Source

Offers more than 3000 full-text titles in engineering, computer science and related areas.

ERIC

Provides access to educational literature and resources. This database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

G

GeoRef

Produced by the American Geosciences Institute, this comprehensive geosciences database contains bibliographic records for geosciences literature from around the world. Library has enabled full text linking to available resources.

GeoScience World

A comprehensive Internet resource for research across the geosciences, built on a database of peer-reviewed journals and integrated with GeoRef.

GreenFILE

Covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes full-text.

H

Harvard Business Review

The Abu Dhabi Library has a print subscription to Harvard Business Review. Online issues are available through Ebsco’s Business Source Elite database from 1985 to the present.

I

IEEE Xplore Digital Library

Provides full-text access to all IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) transaction journals, conference proceedings, and standards.

INSPEC

Created by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, this leading bibliographic database provides abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. Library has enabled full text linking to available resources

IOPScience (Institute of Physics)

The IOP Publishing subscription offers access to 70 journals in all fields of physics including Applied Physics; Astronomy & Astrophysics; Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics; Biophysics & Biomedical Physics; Condensed Matter; Earth Science; High Energy & Plasma Physics; Instrumentation & Measurement; Materials Science & Nanotechnology; Mathematical & Computational Physics. Dates ranges for the subscribed titles are available here. IOP Publishing also offers free titles, listed here. The library’s subscription does not include online books.

J

Journal Citation Report

Journal Citation Reports gives a systematic, objective means to evaluate the world’s leading scientific and scholarly journals. By analyzing citation references, Journal Citation Reports measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.

JSTOR

Archival (not current) journals in the Arts and Sciences Collections.

K

Knovel

Knovel is a unique database combining full-text books and reference books with interactive analytic tools embedded in some of the resources. The subscription includes aerospace, biochemistry, chemistry, computer hardware, material properties data, metals, nanotechnology, optics, plastics, project management, and these engineering disciplines: chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, manufacturing, mechanical, transportation.

L

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Indexes journals, books, reports and proceedings in library sciences, online retrieval, information management.

Lynda.com

Lynda.com provides an online library of over 200,000 high-quality video tutorials and courses on topics relating to computing, business, management, marketing, education, elearning, design, web development, animation, and audio.

New Users click here

Existing Users click here

M

MathScinet

MathScinet (Abstract-only) offers reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature dating back to the early 1800s.

N

Nature Journals

The Nature subscription includes all Nature-branded journals for the previous 4 years plus the current year. It also includes Scientific American in pdf format. Nature journals cover biotechnology, chemistry, climate change, energy, genetics, geoscience, medicine, nanotechnology, neuroscience, photonics, and physics. Note that in Ebsco Academic Search Complete, earlier years for some Nature titles are available, as well as Scientific American back to 2005 (html format only). Nature does not provide a way to search subscribed material only. See list of titles included and excluded at http://libguides.kustar.ac.ae/content.php?pid=689022

O

OnePetro

Published by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE), OnePetro is the premier online source for technical literature regarding the oil and gas exploration and production industry. OnePetro has input from 20 publishers, with access to over 180,000 items. OnePetro.org is the definitive resource on upstream oil and gas.

 

Optics InfoBase

Access the largest collection of peer-reviewed optics and photonics content via OSA's Digital Library, Optics InfoBase.

Oxford Reference Library

230+ in-depth, specialized titles from Oxford University Press’s award-winning Encyclopedias and Companions, and a selection of partner publishers’ scholarly works .

P

PLoS

Public Library of Science. Open access (free) journals in biology and medicine.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

The database consists of PH.D and Masters Dissertations and theses – over 3 million theses abstracts, with approximately half in full text.

PuBMeD

An index of over 20 million citations in the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, journals, and online books. Includes some links to full-text material. From NIH.

PubMed Central

Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from NIH (U.S. National Institutes of Health).

R

New RefWorks

RefWorks is a powerful online research management tool used by more than 1,200 research organizations worldwide. This writing and collaboration solution is designed to help researchers easily gather, organize, store, share information, and instantly generate citations and bibliographies

Old RefWorks

S

Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online is a collection of over 24,000 full-text books and videos relating to information technology and business.

Science Direct

Full-text access to all 2012 and 2013 books.

Covers physics, astronomy, energy, engineering, computer science, materials science, math, environmental science, chemistry, and chemical engineering.

Online journals and archive from 1995 to date

Subject include the Science Direct subscription includes all Elsevier journal articles from 1995 to date. Subjects include Engineering, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics, Biochemistry and Health Sciences, as well as Business, Economics and Social Sciences.

Science Journals Online

AAAS publishes six respected peer-reviewed journals.

  • Science, the premier global science weekly
  • Science Signaling, the leading journal of cell signaling and regulatory biology
  • Science Translational Medicine, integrating medicine, engineering and science to promote human health
  • Science Advances, an innovative and high-quality open access journal for all the sciences
  • Science Immunology, research articles that report critical advances in all areas of immunological research, including important new tools and techniques
  • Science Robotics, original, peer-reviewed, science- or engineering-based research articles that advance the field of robotics

SciVal

Offers quick, easy access to the research performance of 8,500 research institutions and 220 countries worldwide.

Scopus

Index (not full-text) for 20,000 journals, conference papers, patents and other resources in physical sciences, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences back to 1996 and arts and humanities back to 2002. For more detail on coverage, click here.

Springer

Full-text access to all books from 2005-2014

Subjects include behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material science Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Engineering Humanities, Social Science & Law Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Professional and Applied computing.

e-Journal Core Collection 1997 to date

The Springer e-Journal Core Collectionincludes around 1342 journal titles with access starting in 1997.

T

Taylor and Francis Online Journals

Access to 1589 journals in science, technology, social sciences, and humanities.

W

Web of Science

Web of Science (WoS) indexes over 11,000 important journals and conferences in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. In addition to searching by topic or author, WoS is useful for finding articles citing a known author, and for expanding a search to articles citing the same references. WoS includes Journal Citation Reports (JCR) for identifying a journal’s impact factor (importance based on how frequently its articles are cited). WoS does not include full-text but links to full-text if the library subscribes to the item.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.