Skip to main content

Database Searching: Home

Some useful tips for database searching

What is a Library Database

Library Database is an organized collection of electronic information that allows you as user to search for a particular topic, article, or book in a variety of ways (e.g., keyword, subject, author, title).

Some databases cover the full-text of articles from journals, magazines, newspapers and books which means you can read, save and print. Other articles will have only abstracts (summary).

 Get to know your Library Databases

Introduction to Database Searching

Types of e-databases that are available at Khalifa University of Science and Technology Library will be introduced and explained, and how you can use them to find journal articles; conference proceedings; book chapters; e-books; e-journals, etc.

  • This is important because searching library databases is a bit different from searching Google.

  • The techniques described in this section will enable you to quickly retrieve relevant information from the thousands of records in a database.

  • When you search a database and do not get the results you expect, Ask Us for advice. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need.

Should I search through Google or Library databases?

There are few questions you should ask yourself before starting a search. What kind of information on google can be obtained and how different are the results found from library databases; what are the author qualifications; how current is the information and accurate.  The answer to these questions is, the results found on Library Databases are peer reviewed and reliable.

Types of Databases:

  • Bibliographic (citation) databases, reference to publications (e.g. Scopus, Web of Science, etc).  A bibliographic database is designed as tool to find scholarly literature.

  • Databases to Full-text publications (e.g. Science Direct, Wiley, IEEE, Springer, etc) Journal articles, conference papers, e-books, book chapters, etc can be available via more than one full-text database.  Full-text databases provide the option of searching in the full text of the articles. KU Libraries hold licenses for many full-text electronic collections offered by academic publishers.

An important step is to choose the best and the right database(s) for your research topic.

Librarian

Muna Abdulla's picture
Muna Abdulla
Contact:
028109054