Skip to main content

Senior Design: Articles

Summon

Search it all with Summon!

  • Conduct a search
  • Limit to full-text and articles

NOTE:  Summon does NOT search

  • ACS
  • ANS
  • Brill Encyclopedia
  • EBSCO - partially
  • Engineering case studies online
  • Gale Global Issues in Context
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library

Databases

Some databases are just INDEXES. 

  • They point you to references
  • They do not have full-text
  • Web of Knowledge and Scopus are examples

Some databases are all full-text

  • Everything indexed is available online
  • IEEE Xplore is an example

Some databases are a hybrid

  • EBSCO is an example
  • Only 67% of the references include full-text

Which database should I use to find journal articles?

General databases - publishers - full-text journals

General databases - aggregators

  • Ebsco  Academic Search Complete, and Applied Sciences & Technology Source (60% full-text)

General databases - indexes (no full-text but with links to our collections) 

Subject databases

Use OneSearch to search across most databases.  OneSearch provides links to our content.  If the links don't work, search the title in the specific database.

Open access articles

The Open Access movement opens access to non-subscribed material.

  • arXiv.org provides pre-prints (before publication) to papers in physics, math, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics

  • BioMed Central

  • DOAJ  (Directory of Open Access Journals)

  • Check also the Free Online Resources libguide.

Subject Guide