Skip to main content

APA Style: E-Journals

A guide to APA referencing style for Khalifa University students and staff

Details

From a full text database

Full text databases include Academic OneFile, ProQuest, and PsycARTICLES, to name a few.

Most articles in full text databases include a DOI, which should be included in your reference if given.

If no DOI is available, the Database name is cited rather than the internet address.

From the internet

Unlike journal articles from full text databases these are often freely available on the internet.

Some publishers offer recent issues for free and earlier issues for a subscription fee.

Include the DOI, if available, or the internet address.

Format

Standard format for citation

From a full text database

DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., & Article Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), inclusive page or paragraph numbers. doi:10.XXX/XXXXX.XX

No DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., & Article Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Retrieved Month date, Year, from Database name.

From the internet

DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., & Article Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), inclusive page or paragraph numbers. doi: 10.XXXX/XXXXX.XX

No DOI available:

Article Author, A. A., & Article Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number(issue number), inclusive page or paragraph numbers. Retrieved from internet address

Examples

Journal article from a full text database
Altobelli, T. (2009). Family violence and parenting: Future directions in practice. Australian Journal of Family Law, 23, 194. Retrieved January 22, 2010, from LexisNexis AU.

Borman, W. C., Hanson, M. A., Oppler, S. H., Pulakos, E. D., & White, L. A. (1993). Role of early supervisory experience in supervisor performance. Journal of Applied Psychology, 78, 443-449. doi:10.1037/0021-9010.78.3.443

Gilbert, D. G., Mc Clernon, J. F., Rabinovich, N. E., Sugai, C., Plath, L.C., Asgaard, G., ... Botros, N. (2004). Effects of quitting smoking on EEG activation and attention last for more than 31 days and are more severe with stress, dependence, DRD2 A1 allele, and depressive traits. Nicotine and Tobacco Research, 6, 249-267. doi:10.1080/1462220041001676305

Patton, G. C., et al. (1996). Is smoking associated with depression and anxiety in teenagers? American Journal of Public Health, 86, 225+. Retrieved November 20, 2001, from ProQuest.

Vogels, A. G. C., Crone, M. R., Hoekstra, F., & Reijneveld, S.A. (2009). Comparing three short questionnaires to detect psychosocial dysfunction among primary school children: a randomized method. BMC Public Health 9, 489. doi:10.1186/1471-2458-9-489

Journal article from the internet
Bond, L., Carlin, J. B., Thomas, L., Rubin, K., & Patton, G. (2001). Does bullying cause emotional problems? A prospective study of young teenagers. BMJ, 323, 480-484. doi: 10.1136/bmj.323.7311.480

Sillick, T. J., & Schutte, N. S. (2006). Emotional intelligence and self-esteem mediate between perceived early parental love and adult happiness. E-Journal of Applied Psychology, 2(2), 38–48. Retrieved from http://ojs.lib.swin.edu.au/index.php/ejap/article/view/71/100