Skip to main content

Biomedical Engineering: Databases

A guide to resources in Biomedical Engineering

Elsevier Science Direct

The Science Direct subscription includes all Elsevier journal articles from 2009
to date.  Subjects include Engineering, Computer Science, Environmental Science,
Materials Science, Mathematics, Physics, Biochemistry and Health Sciences, as
well as Business, Economics and Social Sciences.

INSPEC

Covers 3,500 sci/tech journals, some key areas include: applied physics, controls, systems, and manufacturing. I suggest combining your searches with Compendex.

IEEE Explorer library

Delivering full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in engineering and technology

AAAS Science Journals

  • Science Online
  • Science Signaling
  • Science Science Translational Medicine

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Central

Free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from NIH (U.S. National Institutes of Health).

BioMed Central

 The research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are 'Open Access'. They are immediately and permanently available online without charge. A number of journals require an institutional or a personal subscription to view other content, such as reviews or paper reports.

EBSCO

  • Academic Search Complete (ASC):  Indexes and abstracts articles in over 11,900 journals with full-text for 7,900 journal titles.  Its broad subject coverage includes the sciences and engineering, the arts, social sciences, and humanities.
  • Computer and Applied Sciences Complete (CASC):  Specializes in research and development in computing and the applied sciences as well as the business and social implications of new technology.  It indexes over 2,000 journals and provides full-text for over 950 titles.
  • GreenFILE:  Covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.  Includes full-text.
  • INSPEC (trial only) :  See description below.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts:  Indexes journals, books, reports and proceedings in library sciences, online retrieval, information management.

High Wire

 

Free Online Full-text Articles

Springer e-books & Journals

Full-text access to all books from 2005-2013 covering

e-Journal Core Collection 1997 to date

Behavioral Sciences, Biomedical & Life Sciences, Business & Economics, Chemistry & Material science Computer Science, Earth & Environmental Science, Engineering Humanities, Social Science & Law Mathematics & Statistics, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Professional and Applied computing.